Choosing the right location


Vietnam shares borders with China, Laos and Cambodia and could be observational described as being shaped like an elongated ‘S’. There are three distinct regions; north, south and central, which constitute Vietnam. Each region is characteristically divergent:

North: home to the capital, Hanoi. The north is known for its alpine peaks, the Red River Delta and enchanting Ha Long Bay. It has a diversity of ethno-linguistic minorities. 

Central: includes the Central Highlands and the provinces of Dak Lak, Dak Nong, Gia Lai, Kon Tum and Lam Dong. Da Nang is the commercial centre of central Vietnam. The region has a large population of ethnic minorities. 

South: divided into coastal lowlands, the mountainous Central highlands (Cao nguyen Trung phan), and the Mekong River Delta. The nation’s commercial hub, Ho Chi Minh City, is located here, as well as the growing delta city of Can Tho and the major port of Vung Tau.

(Source – UKTI)



There are two basic seasons in North Vietnam – a cold and humid winter from November to April and a warm, wet summer for the remainder of the year. Central Vietnam’s northern provinces share a similar climate to the north, with temperatures ranging from 22-30°C. The southern Vietnamese provinces share the tropical climate of South Vietnam, which is generally warm. The hottest months are from March to May, with temperatures of 38-40°C.

(Source – UKTI)


Centres of business

Ho Chi Minh City — formerly known as Saigon, Ho Chi Minh City (often abbreviated to HCMC) is the largest city in Vietnam, covering an area of 2,056.5 km². It is situated in the south of the country, on the banks of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh City is the most important economic centre of Vietnam and home to the country’s first stock exchange. The city’s metropolitan area has a population of around nine million people. Business sectors include: mining, seafood processing, agriculture, construction, tourism, finance, high-tech, electronic, processing, agro-products and crude oil.

Hanoi — on the right bank of the Red River to the north of the country, the capital city Hanoi has an estimated population of 6.5 million (2009) and is the second largest city in Vietnam. October 2010 marked 1,000 years since the city was established. Tourism, finance and banking play an important role in Hanoi’s economy. Its primary business districts are Hoan Kiem and surrounding areas and Trung Hoa Nhan Chinh in the south-west. Hanoi is largely unspoiled by modern architecture and is now going through a major industrialisation and modernisation process. The non‑state economic sectors are expanding fast, with more than 48,000 businesses currently operating under the Enterprise Law.

Bac Ninh province — the smallest of all Vietnamese provinces, but with the highest population density, Bac Ninh is Vietnam’s new industrial heartland, located in the Red River delta to the east of Hanoi. Canon chose the Que Vo Industrial Complex in Bac Ninh as the location for its new laser printer plant in 2008, the biggest such facility in the world.

Da Nang – is a major port city on the south central coast of Vietnam. Strategically located on the route of the North-South Railway, it is an important transportation hub and the commercial and educational centre of Central Vietnam. There is a huge real-estate development along its famous coastal strip.

(Source – UKTI)


comments powered by Disqus

Contact Form